They may all get military cuts soon…

LICE!  Have you had ’em?  Oh my what obnoxious house guests they are, I DO NOT recommend you let them in.  We’ve gotten "the letter" home before, you know the one that makes your skin crawl and your head instantly itch?  We’ve never had the pleasure of actually hosting the little buggers before though and oh, what a pleasure, UGH!  About a month ago, I had just finished packing the whole family up to head out to San Antonio for my mom’s 60th birthday, as in, was loading the dog up to take her to the boarding place before picking the kids up to head out, when my phone rang, "Hi Mrs. Miller, this is the school nurse, I have Jason here and well….he has lice".  I literally screamed in the poor girl’s (she’s not even older than Audrey’s youngerst NICU nurse), "WHATTTT????"  Went and got him; turned out 4 in his class and 3 in Ethan’s had it too.  Cancelled our trip to SA and started the delousing process.  20 loads of hot water wash and super heat dry, hours of vacumming and nit-picking later, and I thought we were clean.  I even started washing, conditioning, and leave-in conditioning with tea-tree oil products in hopes of preventing the reinvestation.  I retreated at 7 days and continued our tea-tree regimen. 
So silly to feel protected by the tea-tree; got the call today, Ethan has "several nits".  I screamed in her ear again, ugh!  Neither Audrey or Jason had any on them, but they were treated to the super-fun combing session and shampoo too.   After I treated Ethan, I took him to get a buzz cut.  I sat there the whole time on pins and needles hoping I had gotten them all so the stylist wouldn’t have to freak out if she saw any.  Apparently I’m quite the nit comber, as she had no clue.  After, I told Ethan how nervous I had been and he says, "I know mom, my heart was beating super fast the whole time!"  Awesome, I’ve taught my child to lie by withholding information, I’m such a great mom! 
 The last load of laundry is in right now.  We’ll be treated to Audrey telling everyone "my brother has bugs in his hair" for the next few days until she forgets which will probably coincide with us getting it again, fun times at the Millers!  Remind me to share yesterday’s folly too, Jason in the principal’s office for writing "poop" on an assignment…they LOVE the Miller family at our school!  Wait til they get Missy Miss!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment